Safety Belts: Choice of Life or Death

First of all, sincere apologies to my readers and followers for having slagged in making a post in the past few days; I’ve been up and down clearing my desk and office (in Meru) and getting ready to start my new job (which is actually this morning) in audit, head office. Transition from operations to audit is a great move, personally for me as this is a job I came to love while auditing in a small water company in my hometown. I gained a lot of respect and admiration for the job and I told myself “when I grow up I wanna work full-time as an auditor.” This dream is coming true today. But the move from Meru to Nairobi wasn’t a pleasant one; actually traumatizing. I had a car accident along the Makuyu-Nairobi highway, at a petrol station just before entering the dual carriage that makes up the Thika Superhighway. My driver (well I had to hire a car to move my things) was driving really fast (possibly 140kph) while overtaking some car on the Kakuzi road stretch when all of a sudden a Nissan Xtrail made entry to a petrol station and it was too late for the driver to engage emergency breaks; the first impact woke me from my deep slumber and then my life seemed to flash before me as I waited for the airbags to deploy. We headed towards a billboard but missed it narrowly as the car went flying over a ditch and landing near the pumps. The car I was in made a 100m shoot from the highway to the pump, indicating just how fast the car was being driven. I sat in my chair, too shaken to even move an inch. I touched myself allover to ensure no broken bones or ribs.

After sitting on my co-driver seat for over half hour, that’s when it dawned on me – the seat belts had saved my life. With such a dive, if I hadn’t my belts on, probably I would have found myself thrown out through the windshield and sprawn on the petrol station grounds. And my thoughts rushed to the numerous calls by authorities to car users and passengers to have their safety belts on whenever traveling; I always heeded to the advice but am among the few that actually do it. It ain’t a joke; SAFETY BELTS SAVES LIVES.

Next time you board a car, matatu or bus and headed for somewhere, no matter the distance, kindly do have your seat belt on, you’ll appreciate the service it offers to you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

cropped-from-my-mind.jpg

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. mrosemary says:

    Reblogged this on mrosemary and commented:
    Thank God you survived.

    Like

    1. victormuto says:

      Yea am thankful too. And thanks for the reblog

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

