Ukoo Flani Mau Mau: The Hiphop Revolution

While I was growing up, there’s was awesome music being played on our radio sets; that kind of music just anyone would listen (unlike nowadays). Today I pay my tribute to living legends, Hip hop revolutionists Ukoo Flani Mau Mau. I may not be able to spit lyrics nor talk that slang but am a diehard hip hop fan. I practically grew up in Hip hop and I’ve seen Hiphop evolve immensely especially Kenyan. Ukoo Flani Mau Mau has over the years produced huge hits which to date (my own view) are biggest hits. Notably Kalamashaka when they did “Fanya Mambo” back in the day, that song just put them in the international limelight which included an US tour. I’m not up to date on current affair but where did this amazing group go to? I know if they decided to do a comeback, it would be amazingly dope! Currently, we have artists who have emulated what this group did for the hip hop scene; we got really dope emcees/lyricists likes of Abbas, Khaligraph Jones, Octopizzo, Rabbit, Chiwawa, STL, Kristoff etc.. I mean the hip hop revolution as envisaged by Ukoo Flani did take effect and I wouldn’t be more proud. ukoo flani maumau-1 ukoo flani maumau-8 Ukoo

Leave a Reply

