Give Us A Break

I’m reading my online paper this morning and I’ve come across this story in the Daily Nation where the Government has set aside Shs.4 Billion to cater for payment of KCPE and KCSE examination fees for students in public schools. Now the private schools are complaining that it’s discriminatory. Really? I hate the fact that everything good that the government is doing to improve the lives of Kenyans, some people elsewhere are out bickering that its unfair what the government is doing or its unconstitutional. I ask myself sometimes whether when they say a government decision is unconstitutional if they’ve actually read the constitution so as to make a conclusion of the same. Do give us a Break!!!

Back to my story. My understanding of why a parent takes a child to a private is because he/she can afford it; s/he can pay all fees required including KCPE/KCSE exam fees. Isn’t it being a little bit unfair? A child in public school is one who wants a good education at the least expense ’cause not everyone earn a five figure salary. For instance, I’ve studied in a public school right from kindergarten up to form two where the last two years of high school I went to private DAY SCHOOL. I would have gone to a private school, my parents could afford it but learning in a public school gives one somewhat life experience. Know how the real world is. So I find no fault in the government wanting to support the public school education system by this honorable incentive. My thoughts on all this, private schools are just fearing that by the influx of more public school students doing the exams it might be a stiff competition for them in the exams. I end my note on this, “asiyekubali kushindwa si mshindani (simply put, don’t hate the player, hate the game)

 

P.s

Read the story here http://www.nation.co.ke/news/Private-schools-cry-foul-over-exam-fees/-/1056/2413178/-/22h54n/-/index.html

Leave a Reply

